When I find myself in times of trouble, David after Dentist comes to me. Whisper words of wisdom: “Is this gonna be forever?”

These are words I find myself muttering to myself nearly every day. Everyday I wake up, anxious and angry, wondering when things are going to magically turn around.

Obviously they aren’t. That’s the cruel trick that adults never told us kids. Stuff doesn’t get better, some of it gets easier right before other stuff gets harder.

But back to the wisdom contained in that circa 2008 youtube sensation.

Yes, this is real life. Yes, this is gonna be forever. And yes, you can actually see things.

The first time I watched the video, I honestly just laughed. I never saw the wisdom of this child, freshly anesthetized and scared of the world. After a few viewings and years of being out of college, it hurts.

Why is this happening to me?

I could go on, honestly I’m looking for another excuse to watch the video again. But I won’t. Cause the thing is, we’re not children fresh out of oral surgery. We have to be “adults” now. Or at least, our closest approximation to adults that we can manage. That seems to be sufficient, at least till I turn 30.

I have no other wisdom to impart, I’ve spent too much time on youtube tonight. Now it’s time to drink my tea and reread all of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.

In the words of David, “AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA”

David after Dentist: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=txqiwrbYGrs

Leave a Reply

