The best advice I have ever received about feeling sad was to drink something hot (hot chocolate or tea was the suggestion) and listen to The Beatles’ “Here Comes the Sun”.

This is something I forget about often, then will suddenly remember, as the song always seems to come when I need it. And when it came on a few minutes ago, I did really need it. I’d been ruminating and sipping tea, not even realizing that I was sad. Not noticing that I needed it.

And that’s ok. Emotions are weird and not always on the forefront of our mind. Something happens and suddenly we realize we’re really happy or really sad.

That song did it for me.

But, sipping my tea and listening to that song reminded me that hey, the sun is gonna come out and I can make it through whatever life throws at me. I have so far.

And I think that’s really important for people to remember.

 

Leave a Reply

